Cheap Utah Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 8 car insurance companies in Utah.

Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Utah

Across the Beehive State, there are 93,914 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Utah?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1Bear River$578
2USAA$775
3Auto-Owners$876
4American Family$974
5Allied$1,018
6Safeco$1,040
7GEICO$1,044
8Farm Bureau Mutual$1,047
9Progressive$1,096
10Nationwide$1,132
11Dairyland$1,248
12Unigard$1,298
13Cal Casualty$1,329
14Farmers$1,379
15State Farm$1,417
16Travelers$1,504
17Allstate$1,596
18MetLife$1,767
19Liberty Mutual$1,859
20Encompass$1,955

Compare quotes now!

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Utah

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Utah drivers without a recent moving violation save just 14% on their car insurance premiums, on average — compared to the national average of 17%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$17814.00%
No Accidents$45729.51%
Good Credit$1,16951.71%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Utah

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. Utah is one of the most expensive states in which to insure a teen driver. The average Utahn teen will pay $5,004 annually — almost five times as much as will an older Utah driver.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$5,968$5,806
17$5,654$5,009
18$5,680$4,379
19$4,869$2,672

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Utah

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 29% after a DUI, 29% after an at-fault accident, and 14% after a speeding ticket in Utah. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies after driving violations in Utah are slightly lower than national averages. If you have a clean driving record, be sure to check for good-driving discounts from your insurer.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$1,54929.51%
DUI$1,52228.30%
Speeding Violation$1,26914.00%
Bad Credit$2,26051.71%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in Utah?

Every auto insurance company advertises its low costs. But as with any product, the cheapest choice isn't always the best option. Considering the financial stakes, it's worthwhile to do the research to zero in on the insurance policy that protects your vehicle completely in the event of an incident. Exercise some patience and look for a great value, instead of settling for the cheapest car insurance in your state.

Review local and national insurers' fiscal stability and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service you will receive. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Superior" to "Poor" — evaluates an insurance company's financial strength and ability to fulfill its contractual and policy obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allied3Superior
Allstate3Superior
American Family4Excellent
Bear RiverNot RatedExcellent
EncompassNot RatedSuperior
Farmers3Excellent
GEICO3Superior
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
MetLife3Superior
Nationwide4Superior
Progressive3Superior
State Farm3Superior
Travelers3Superior
UnigardNot RatedExcellent
USAA5Superior

 

Find the perfect policy for you!

 

What is the Best Car Insurance Coverage in Utah?

The minimum insurance requirement in Utah is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $65,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $15,000 Property Damage per accident.

If you select the minimum coverage level in Utah, you'll owe an average of $601 yearly. This is cheaper than the U.S. average by 9%. If you opt for better car insurance coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, protecting against damages caused by vehicular collisions, theft, vandalism, or weather incidents. It's worth noting that better auto insurance comes at a cost: in Utah, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,013, 69% more than basic insurance coverage. For comprehensive coverage with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 87% more than you would for a basic policy.

Analyze mean prices for basic and comprehensive coverage levels below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
Utah$600.64$1,012.94$1,122.74
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Utah

In Utah, the state minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
Liability
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $65,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $15,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • $3,000 per person
Optional coverage in Utah (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage

Liability coverage is legally required in Utah and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Utah, the minimum is listed as 25/65/15 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $65,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $15,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

Personal Injury Protection provides coverage for medical costs that you and your passengers incur in an accident regardless of fault. PIP doesn’t automatically include coverage for work loss in Utah but it can be added. The minimum PIP coverage amount of $3,000 per person is required on your policy.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Utah but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Utah is a no fault state!

Put simply, a no-fault insurance laws system requires that drivers carry their own protection. When an accident happens, no matter who is at fault, your own insurance foots the bill. Each driver takes care of his or herself, and theoretically, the chances of someone suing or raising a hissy fit over culpability are lessened. And bonus? It guarantees every driver immediate medical treatment in the event of an accident.

Utah Car Insurance FAQs

Is Utah a no-fault car insurance state?

Yes, Utah is a no-fault state. You are responsible for your own bodily injury payments after an accident regardless of fault.

What three car insurance coverages are required in Utah?

You are required to carry bodily injury liability, property damage liability, and personal injury protection (PIP) coverage in Utah.

Do you need insurance before registering a car in Utah?

Yes. Because car insurance is legally required in Utah, you must have proof of insurance in order to register a vehicle.

How much does car insurance cost in Utah cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Saint George, Utah, and the most expensive in West Valley City, Utah.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1West Valley City$1,481
2Kearns$1,456
3Salt Lake City$1,430
4Taylorsville$1,417
5Millcreek$1,405
6West Jordan$1,356
7Cottonwood Heights$1,347
8Orem$1,324
9Draper$1,309
10Provo$1,298
11South Jordan$1,294
12Sandy$1,284
13Ogden$1,258
14Bountiful$1,250
15Clearfield$1,239
16Lehi$1,236
17Roy$1,225
18Layton$1,223
19Murray$1,194
20Riverton$1,165
21Pleasant Grove$1,154
22Spanish Fork$1,143
23Logan$1,076
24Tooele$1,069
25Saint George$1,016

Recent Utah Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Can I buy insurance for a car i do not have a title for?

If I want to buy a car I must have insurance for the car, but I have to own a ...

MAY 17, 2018
|
OGDEN, UT
Is car insurance a hard or soft credit check?

Is there any insurance companies that don’t check for your credit when trying to purchase insurance? I am trying to ...

APR 29, 2018
|
SALT LAKE CITY, UT
Discounts on car insurance after taking a professional safety course for teens

Are there any discounts for teen drivers if they take a school sponsored course? My daughters are both learning to ...

APR 27, 2018
|
PARK CITY, UT
Can I set up car insurance for someone else as a surprise?

My daughter is 23 and we would like to surprise her with a car. We want to get the car ...

APR 25, 2018
|
ST. GEORGE, UT

Driving Laws

Utah Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on all cell phones for school bus drivers
  2. Ban on all cell phones for drivers <18 years old
  3. Ban on text messaging for all drivers

There is a 10-year DUI lookback period in the state of Utah. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe result in harsher penalties and fines.

Utah DUI Laws

A DUI leading to injury results in enhanced fines and harsher sentencing. Penalties are also increased for a DUI with a passenger under 16 in the vehicle.

First-time DUI offenses in Utah lead to:

  • 48 hours to six months in jail
  • $700 to $1,000 in fines
  • A 90-day license revocation with the possibility for a longer revocation period
  • The possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

Utah Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Utah area, while also getting an insider view of the Beehive State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...